December 19, 2018

Lahore Qalandars bags AB de Villiers; complete list of picks in PSL 2019 draft

Star South African cricketer AB de Villiers was the first cricketer to be picked by Lahore Qalandars. (File Photo)

A player draft for the upcoming edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) was held in Islamabad on Tuesday. Over 650 cricketers were part of the draft and the franchises were asked to add 20 players in their respective squads. The franchises could have three platinum, three diamond, three gold, five silver, two emerging and four supplementary picks. However, teams were also allowed to retain a maximum of 10 players irrespective of the categories.

Lahore Qalandars, which stood last in the previous edition, were given the first picks in every round, followed by the sixth team,(formerly Multan Sultans).

Platinum Round:

Star South African cricketer AB de Villiers was the first cricketer to be picked by Lahore Qalandars. Lahore, then retained Fakhar Zaman and picked Mohammad Hafeez in this category.

Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi and Steve Smith are the three players of the Sixth Team.

Quetta Gladiators picked Dwayne Bravo and retained Sarfraz Ahmed and Sunil Narine.

Peshawar Zalmi picked up West Indies all-rounder Keiron Pollard and retained pacers Wahab Riaz and Hasan Ali in this category.

Karachi Kings and Islamabad United retained all the three players in this category.

Diamond Round:

Lahore Qalandars, who were allowed to pick first in all the rounds made maximum use of it as they went on to bag Carlos Brathwaite and Corey Anderson, while retaining Yasir Shah in this category.

The Sixth Team, which already consisted of Junaid Khan and Mohammad Irfan, added Joe Denly to their squad.

Peshawar Zalmi went on to buy Misbah-ul-Haq, under whom Islamabad United had bagged the PSL title twice.

English cricketer Ian Bell was picked by Islamabad United. He will be joined by Mohammad Sami and Asif Ali.

Karachi Kings, again, and Quetta Gladiators did not have a pick as they had retained all their three players.

Gold Round:

Lahore Qalandars picked Sandeep Lamichhane in this category.

The Sixth Team picked up 18-year-old legspinner Qais Ahmed, who hails from Nangarhar, Afghanistan.

Quetta Gladiators picked Fawad Ahmed, while Karachi Kings picked Sikandar Raza.

Peshawar Zalmi picked up Dawid Malan and Umer Amin.

Samit Patel and Philip Salt were bagged by Islamabad United.

Silver Round:

The major players to be picked in this category were Cameron Delport, Mohammad Asghar and Sohaib Maqsood. Delport was picked by Islamabad United, Asghar by Quetta Gladiators and Maqsood went to Peshawar Zalmi.

In the supplementary round which allows franchises with the flexiblity to pick four players, Quetta Gladiators decided to sign Ahmed Shehzad. Chris Jordan and young legspinner Ibtisam Sheikh were picked by Peshawar Zalmi


Islamabad United:

Platinum – Shadab Khan, Luke Ronchi, Faheem Ashraf

Diamond – Mohammad Sami, Asif Ali, Ian Bell

Gold – Rumman Raees, Samit Patel, Philip Salt

Silver – Hussain Talat, Sahibzada Farhan, Zafar Gohar, Waqas Maqsood, Cameron Delport

Emerging – Musa Khan, Nasir Nawaz

Supplementary – Wayne Parnell, Zahir Khan, Amad Butt, Rizwan Hussain

Karachi Kings:

Platinum – Mohammad Amir, Babar Azam, Colin Munro

Diamond – Usman Khan Shinwari, Colin Ingram, Imad Wasim

Gold – Mohammad Rizwan, Ravi Bopara, Sikandar Raza

Silver – Awais Zia, Aaron Summers, Usama Mir, Sohail Khan, Iftikhar Ahmad

Emerging – Ali Imran, Abrar Ahmed

Supplementary – Aamer Yamin, Ben Dunk, Liam Livingstone, Jaahid Ali

Peshawar Zalmi:

Platinum – Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Keiron Pollard

Diamond – Darren Sammy, Kamran Akmal, Misbah ul Haq

Gold – Liam Dawson, Dawid Malan, Umer Amin

Silver – Umaid Asif, Khalid Usman, Wayne Madsen, Sohaib Maqsood, Jamal Anwar

Emerging – Sameen Gul, Nabi Gul

Supplementary – Waqar Salamkheil, Chris Jordan, Ibtisam Sheikh, Samiullah

Quetta Gladiators:

Platinum – Sarfraz Ahmed, Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo

Diamond – Shane Watson, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Nawaz

Gold – Rilee Rossouw, Umar Akmal, Fawad Ahmed

Silver – Anwar Ali, Saud Shakil, Mohammad Asghar, Danish Aziz, Ahsan Ali

Emerging – Ghulam Mudassar, Nasim Shah

Supplementary – Harry Gurney, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Azam Khan, Jalat Khan

The Sixth Team:

Platinum – Shoaib Malik, Steve Smith, Shahid Afridi

Diamond – Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan, Joe Denly

Gold – Shan Masood, Qais Ahmed, Nicholas Pooran

Silver – Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Irfan Khan, Umar Siddiq, Laurie Evans, Nauman Ali

Emerging – Mohammad Junaid, Mohammad Ilyas

Supplementary – Dan Christian, Tom Moores, Ali Shafiq, Shakeel Ansar

Lahore Qalandars:

Platinum – Fakhar Zaman, AB de Villiers, Mohammad Hafeez

Diamond – Yasir Shah, Carlos Brathwaire, Corey Anderson

Gold – Anton Devchich, Rahat Ali, Sandeep Lamichhane

Silver – Shaheen Afridi, Hassan Khan, Agha Salman, Sohail Akhtar, Haris Sohail

Emerging – Mohammad Imran, Umair Maqsood

Supplementary – Brendon Taylor, Gauhar Ali, Aizaz Cheema, Harris Rauf

Source link

Save 15% for Fall into Savings

About The Author

Related posts

Skip to toolbar